STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA COUNTY OF MCDOWELL COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION – APRIL 18, 2018

ASSEMBLY

The McDowell County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Wednesday, April 18, 2018, at 12noon, at the County Administration Building, 60 E Court Street, Marion, North Carolina.

MEMBERS PRESENT

David N. Walker, Chair; Tony Brown; and Lynn Greene.

MEMBERS ABSENT

Barry McPeters, Vice-Chair

OTHERS PRESENT

Ashley Wooten, County Manager; Cheryl Mitchell, Clerk to the Board

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Walker called the meeting to order.

<u>APPOINTMENT</u>

Chairman Walker explained the Republican Executive Committee had met and voted for Brenda Vaughn to fill the vacancy of Matthew Crawford. The vacancy was due to Commissioner Crawford accepting a job offer in Elkin, NC. Chairman Walker added the purpose of today's meeting was to vote on Ms. Vaughn's nomination.

Commissioner Greene made a motion to accept the nomination, second by Commissioner Brown. By unanimous vote, the motion passed.

The Clerk to the Board swore in Ms. Vaughn as County Commissioner. Following pictures, Ms. Vaughn took a seat on the Board.

The Board expressed their congratulations to Commissioner Vaughn.

Commissioner Vaughn expressed her appreciation for the opportunity to serve, and the confidence the Republican Party had put in her. She looked forward to working for the betterment of the county with the Board.

Commissioner Vaughn made a motion to adjourn, second by Commissioner Brown. By unanimous vote, the motion passed.

David N. Walker	Cheryl L. Mitchell
Chairman	Clerk to the Board